What is Windows disk Clean Up?

Disk Cleanup is a computer maintenance feature included in Microsoft Windows. It designed to free up disk space on a computer’s hard drive. There are a number of different file categories that Disk Cleanup targets when performing the initial disk analysis.

  • Compression of old files
  • Temporary Internet files
  • Temporary Windows files
  • Downloaded program files
  • Recycle Bin
  • Removal of unused applications or optional Windows components
  • Setup log files
  • Off-line files.

The above list is not exhaustive. For instance, ‘Temporary Remote Desktop files‘ and ‘Temporary Sync Files‘ may appear only under certain computer configurations, differences such as Windows Operating System and use of additional programs such as Remote Desktop. The option of removing hibernation data may not be ideal for some users as this may remove the hibernate option.

What to do in Clean Up?

The utility first searches and analyses the hard drive for files that are no longer of any use, and then removes the unnecessary files. Once Disk Cleanup is open check each of the boxes you want to run. To the right of each option is the disk drive space each of the items are taking on your hard drive. You can use Disk Clean-up to reduce the number of unnecessary files on your drives, which can help your PC run faster. It can delete temporary files and system files, empty the Recycle Bin and remove a variety of other items that you might no longer need.

 Open Disk Clean Up

There are many ways to open disk clean up window. Among them there are 3 famous ways to open Disk Clean-Up window. You can use any of the following.

Windows 7 and Windows Vista

  • From the Start , choose All Programs→Accessories→System Tools→Disk Cleanup

 

disk

You may be asked to select which drive you want to clean up:

 

huhuh

After selecting the disk (typically the C: or system drive), Disk Cleanup does some calculations to determine what kinds of things are on the disk that could potentially be removed to save space.

 Windows 8 and Windows 8.1

Click Start, and then click Run. In the Open box, type cleanmgr, and then click OK. ( To simply open Run window, press windows + run)

 

cmd

 

You may be asked to select which drive you want to clean up:

ooo

You may have shown the Disk Clean up interface after calculating

huhuhuhuh

Start Disk Clean-Up

In the Disk Cleanup dialog box, place check marks by all the items you want to remove.It’s okay to place check marks by all items. Those things wouldn’t be listed if they were crucial to the computer’s operation.

There’s one exception to placing check marks by all the items, however: Hibernation File Cleaner. Do not remove that item if you use hibernation on your computer.

 

nnmn

To delete files

The following procedure deletes files associated with your user account. You can also use Disk Clean-up to delete system files on your PC. In the Disk Clean-up dialogue box, on the Disk Clean-up tab, select the check-boxe for the file types that you want to delete, then tap or click Delete Files.

 

pra

To delete system files

The following procedure deletes system files on your PC. This option, allows you to delete previous Windows installations, Windows Defender files and Windows upgrade log files that you may no longer need. In the Disk Clean-up dialogue box, tap or click Clean up system files. You might be asked for an admin password or to confirm your choice.

In the Drives list, tap or click the drive that you want to clean up, then tap or Click OK

 

mnmnmn

more Option

The More Options tab is available when you choose to clean system files from your PC. This tab includes two additional ways to free up even more space:

  • Programs and Features. This option opens Programs and Features in Control Panel, where you can uninstall programs that you no longer use. The Size column in Programs and Features shows how much space each program uses.
  • System Restore and Shadow Copies. With this option, you can delete all but the most recent restore point on the drive. System Restore uses restore points to return your system files to an earlier point in time. If your PC is running normally, you can save space by deleting the earlier restore points.

In some editions of Windows, restore points can include previous versions of files, known as shadow copies and backup images. These files and images will also be deleted.

 

nnmn

 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *